What Joan Fontaine Taught Me

Image

“You wanna run away, run away
And you say that it can’t be so
You wanna look away, look away
But you stay ’cause it’s all so close
When you stand up and hold out your hand
In the face what I don’t understand
My reason to be brave”

She’s strong and she’ll carry on. She’s never and she’s pure again. She taught me how to stand up. She taught me how to feel life.

Joan Fontaine always – in all of her movies-was brave. She stood for so much more than Olivia could ever do (actually, Olivia taught me to be wise). Olivia and Joan, I wish they could have made up, if they did, I hope that’s what they did, before her sister died. I’m shocked that Olivia is mourning her sister.

“Oscar-winning actress Joan Fontaine has died at the age of 96 in her home in Carmel, California. Fontaine’s assistant said she died peacefully in her sleep on Sunday. Among Fontaine’s most memorable films was the Alfred Hitchcock picture “Suspicion,” co-starring Carry Grant, for which she won the Academy Award for Best Actress in 1942.” This was news to me. It surprised me and it hit me hard.

“I think Joanie’s death is just hitting me now

Like guys, she’s gone and she’s not coming back,” stated a friend of mine, who also loved Joan Fontaine. She goes on…goes on. She will not run away. She remains in my heart. What she taught is that life will throw many curves at you, and that you must always be “brave”.

Always be brave, no matter what is thrown at you.

Leave a comment