What Stanwyck Taught Me

Image

When I was little, I was introduced to many stars. Barbara Stanwyck, was one of them. Out of all of them, she had taught me how to be strong. As a child, I was often bullied, for my love of Old Hollywood. When I was about five, I was fortunate to be shown “The Woman In Red”.  When I was just a tiny girl, my world was changed by this New York woman. When I was young, things were different. The epidemic of Bullying was underway and I was caught in the middle of it. I use to watch “Stanny” (as my grandpa and I called her) all the time. She was the one that got me through middle school and high school. I did however quote her often (and to people my age, it didn’t make sense). My paternal grandpa thought of her to be a natural beauty. Personally, I did too. She had that beauty that could surpass people, even the stars today. Forget Kim Kardashian (I probably spelled her name wrong, ohh well), Barbara Stanwyck has more beauty. Now, this isn’t a beauty contest, I’m just giving you my personal opinion. When I was about 7, I was being tormented and I don’t know what happened, but, I did one of those “stanny punches” . I seemed to have felt that she was “working through me”.She taught me how to stand up and not take any crap from anyone and work hard to achieve your goals. She also put that self confidence that I needed. In everything that I have, I can be thankful for Barbara Stanwyck (after all, my paternal grandmother’s name is Barbara) (I’m not sure if she was named after Stanny). I always wanted to strive to be like her. In the face of adversity, she always seems to stand tall and strong. If you haven’t seen B.S, you need to!

Leave a Reply

