Angel or Just a Miracle?

Image

Over the past few weeks, I have been trying to “stay afloat”. My job hadn’t worked out and I’m in debate of what I should do. In my early years, I had been introduced to a lovely lady named Miriam Seegar. She passed away in 2011, and I was just beginning college. Recently, she has made her way back into my own life and I can’t tell you what a joy it has been . But, I don’t know what “it means”? My granny use to tell me that when stars come into your life, there must be a reason. Why, the reason why Barbara Kent came into my life, was due to the fact that my grandfather had given her to me and said that she was so special. Miriam, on the other hand, came into my life at six years of age and completely on accident. It was when I was at school and we took a trip to the library (you know those kiddie field trips that schools don’t usually do anymore). As the other children went for the picture books, I went to the big books. I finally found a lovely book with lots of stars in it (funny thing, now I don’t remember the name of the book). I took it down and it was rather large for my size. I opened it and looked at all the stars. There, I saw Miriam Seegar’s picture for the first time. She was just perfect to me and I didn’t want anyone else to tell me otherwise. I brought the book up to the main desk and asked if I could have the book or let me take the picture. Of course, neither was possible, so they gave me a copy of picture. It looked very similar to the one above. When I got home, I went to my granny’s house and I told her what I had seen. I showed her the picture of Miriam and she said that she was about to tell me about her. So my “story of the day” was about Miriam Seegar. Luckily, Granny had one of her films. It was one of her talkies from 1929 or 1930? I did see some of her silents, but that was when I was 11 and wanted to know more. I didn’t even get a chance to meet her, and I was around, while she was too! Unlike my luck with contacts like Moira Shearer and Barbara Kent, I didn’t even know where to begin when it came to contacting her. Her children had both died in 1997 and I didn’t even know if she had any grandchildren or not. But, whether that was a problem, my heart was set on her as well as other stars. But one day I was beaten up at school (this was in middle school) because I carried a book with stars in it (that included her) all the time. Of course, I held that book close to me and I almost stopped breathing. But, I somehow saw in my mind Miriam Seegar breathing and I let out this big breathe of air. I don’t know whether it was just me remembering her in one of her films, or it was meant to happen? I got up (bloody nose and black eyed) and walked away. I went  to the nurse, and when she asked me what happened, I had said “Miriam Seegar told me to breathe”. Of course, that didn’t make any sense to her whatsoever. All I remember is holding that book as close to me as I could. Nowadays, I realized that Miriam Seegar seems to be more active in my life now, then when I was little. She probably wants to help me and get me on my way. I seem to have lost my way, standing at a crossroad, wondering what I should do and if it’s the right decision. Sometimes, all I can see that Miriam Seegar didn’t have much of a choice but to do acting and it seemed to have paid off. She really seemed to have done well and I don’t know whether I can achieve like she did. I’ll have to try and see what my options are. If only she didn’t have to go so soon or if I was born in her era, I would have a much more better sight on what to do. In my mind, she was the one who told me to breather.

Leave a Reply

